Back to New Apple Press Release Archives

For immediate release

Heartrending Novel "Spirit Woman" Wins New Apple Book Award For Excellence In Independent Publishing

"Spirit Woman" by Debra Shiveley Welch chosen as Medalist Winner in the Sexuality / Relationships category of the 2015 New Apple Book Awards for Excellence in Independent Publishing.

Dayton, OH, September 27, 2016

Spirit Woman by Debra Shiveley Welch chosen as Medalist Winner in the Sexuality / Relationships category of the 2015 New Apple Book Awards for Excellence in Independent Publishing.

Book Synopsis
"Spirit Woman" builds off of the author's past and includes the true stories of three other women who suffered from domestic abuse. Wrapped into one, heart-rending story, "Spirit Woman" tells the tale of Nickie Bahiti (buy-a-tie - ghost or spirit) Greene. Desperate for love, she grabs it when she can and finds herself in a living hell. As the story unfolds, we are witness to Nickie's bravery and the loyalty and courage of her friend Beau. Does she escape and does Beau manage to save her, or will she ride the wing of Wakinyan Zitka (Wah-keen-yahn-zheet-kah – The Thunderbird) to the edge of the universe where she would walk the five steps to the Spirit Path and into the Spirit World?

About the Author
Award winning author Debra Shiveley Welch was born in Columbus, Ohio and has lived in the Greater Columbus area all of her life. She now resides in Central Ohio with her husband Mark and son Christopher, also a published author. Debra is the author of eight books. Spirit Woman covers six months in the life of Nickie Bahiti (buy-a-tie) Greene who overcomes her past childhood abuse to fight for her life in an abusive marriage and is also winner of Readers' Favorite. Cedar Woman, the story of a woman of the Lakota Sioux who opens the first high end American Indian restaurant in Central Ohio and winner of Books and Authors Best Native American Fiction award. Christopher Meets Buddy, a children’s book on the proper care of a pet parrot. A Very Special Child, a well-received children’s book which received the FaithWriters Gold Seal of Approval – Outstanding Read Award. Christopher Bullfrog Catcher, written by her son at eleven years of age, and scribed by Debra, who also wrote its introduction. Son of My Soul – The Adoption of Christopher, winner of the FaithWriters Gold Seal of Approval – Out Standing Read, Books & Authors Excellence in Literature, Books and Authors Best Non Fiction, and AllBooks Reviews Editor’s Choice awards. “Jesus Gandhi Oma Mae Adams,” Debra’s first novel, co-authored with Linda Lee Greene. Swinging Bridge, a Reader's Favorite Five Star Award winner, is a memoir, summed up in a collection of poems, essays, writing exercises and short stories as well as excerpts from the author's first memoir, Son of My Soul - The Adoption of Christopher. Circle of Time, a time travel novel in which Bridget Littleton falls from her father's yacht and into a whirlpool in the Bermuda Triangle, only to find herself in the court of Henry VIII and Lady in Waiting to Anne Boleyn. All are available through Amazon and Barnes & Noble. Currently Debra is writing Brave Heart Woman, a sequel to Spirit Woman, Christopher’s Family Table, a companion cook book to Son of My Soul - The Adoption of Christopher, which will feature recipes from a Chopped and Chopped Junior champion, Memories of an Old Farmhouse, a micro-memoir about her memories of her family’s ancestral farm, Walking Lisa Home, a paranormal novel of time crossed love, and a non-fictional work titled Debunking the Hollywood Myth - Confessions of a Biker Club, where the author is exploring the philosophies, philanthropies and brotherhood of a group of men who belong to a biker club.

About the New Apple Book Awards
The Annual New Apple Book Awards for Excellence in Independent Publishing was established to honor the creative achievements of the unsung books fighting for their place within the digital publishing world. Any English language book published within the last three years, currently available for sale by an independent author or small press that met the Awards' guidelines was eligible for entry. One book was chosen in each category as the Medalist Winner receiving the highest honors. In addition, the judges were permitted to choose up to three Official Selections for category distinction.

Contact Information
Spirit Woman is available in Paperback and eBook on Amazon. To find out more about the New Apple Book Awards, visit

Author: Debra Shiveley Welch
Publishing House: Red Road Books (eBook) / Saga Books (Paperback)
ISBN: 978-1-897512-76-0
Author website:
Twitter: @DebraSWelch
Debra S Welch is available for public appearances, signings, interviews and blog tours. Contact the author at

New Apple Contact Information
New Apple Literary Services

Spirit Woman